The COMBINE consortium and organisation

The COMBINE consortium consists of clinicians/scientists, biomedical scientists, epidemiologists, care scientists, bioethicists, members of patient organisation, and representatives from industry. The steering committee has been chosen to both represent all medical faculties/universities in Sweden and to have a track record of building functional national research networks.


Steering committee: Lars Klareskog (coordinator); Christina Opava (vice coordinator); Johan Askling (vice coordinator); Göran Hansson; Sven Pettersson; Rikard Holmdahl (Stockholm); Solbritt Rantapää-Dahlqvist (Umeå); Hans Carlsten, Claes Ohlsson (Göteborg); Gunnar Sturfeldt (Lund); Lars Rönnblom (Uppsala); Thomas Skogh (Linköping) in collaboration with several other research groups, healthcare departments, companies, authorities and members of patient organisations (the Swedish Rheumatism Association) 

The steering committee has the overall strategic and financial responsibility for the program. A small work management group is responsible for the executive common functions of the consortium. The workpackage structure involves scientists, clinicians, patient representatives and industri representing those different fields that we aim to combine in our enterprise. A common forum/scientific meeting is held annually where an open discussion of scientific content and strategy will provide opportunities for open exchange of information between all partners involved in the program. In collaboration with Svensk reumatologisk förening a career development program, Future Faculty Rheumatology, has been constructed. An international scientific advisory board give continuous advice concerning scientific strategy, industrial liason principles and international alliances.